FF legend Windebank sails away for the last time

Sailing and boat-building legend Roy Windebank has passed away. Read this fine obituary on the Flying Fifteen International website. 

'What the Flying Fifteen class owes Roy is beyond computation. At its barest, he refined something probably rather old fashioned into the sleek and enduring boat it became.'

Apthorp and Green ease to Easts victory with four wins from five

Former World Champion Charles Apthorp of Hayling Island SC, with Alan Green of the National YC on board, eased to victory in the Flying Fifteen East Coast Championship held in Dun Laoghaire at the weekend (Oct 4,5), with four wins from five races.

There was thrilling sailing in brisk winds – Apthorp later said it was the best he has had this year – for the 29 teams taking part in the event, with close contests all through the fleet.

David Gorman and Chris Doorly on the National YC were the only team to trouble the winners on the results sheet, taking first in the final race. Current Irish Champions Andrew McCleery and Colin Dougan of Killyleagh YC placed third. 

Full results  | Afloat report


Thrilling finish as Championship goes to the last beat

Andrew McCleery and Colin Dougan were deservedly crowned national champions at the weekend (Aug 22nd-24th). The Killyleagh pair won the prestigious event, which was hosted by Portaferry Sailing Club, in thrilling style.

On the final beat of the final race on Sunday afternoon, they managed to squeeze past their nearest challengers, Dave Gorman and Chris Doorly, from the National Yacht Club in Dun Laoghaire, and then extended their lead down the final two reaches to win the race and the championship by a single point.


McCleery, Dougan are 2014 Champions of Ireland

Killyleagh sailors Andy McCleery and Colin Dougan have won this year's Flying Fifteen National Championships, taking the title in the last race with a single point to spare over Dun Laoghaire pair Dave Gorman and Chris Doorly. Peter Lawson and Jo Bridges, of the host club, Portaferry SC, were placed third in the 29-boat fleet racing on Strangford Lough at the weekend (Aug 22nd-24th).

Results   | report


McCleery, Dougan too good for quality oppositon

Killyleagh sailors Andrew McCleery and Colin Dougan held off quality opposition to win the Narrows Regatta held at the weekend (July 13th), to top their victory in the Bar Bouy race last Friday. Read the report in the Down Recorder